Barcelona, weird meals and a common sense lacking

Some young people were in Barcelona at the Mobile World Congress. I did worry about them because it looks like international travel was a little tiring and am also alarmed that a sinister new LARPing club may be forming among them. Jean was with Brindy so I think he may have tempted her over to the dark side of role play. If you see Jean come to the office dressed as Gandalf or an alien or something you will know why!

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 13.49.23 Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 13.49.41

Here is Brindy hanging out with his new ‘mates’ who are all cool and wear hats. Anyone got a caption for this one?

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 13.51.25

Can anybody tell me what these weird meals are. One of our team is attempting to exist on things that look like they should be given to either very small babies or especially old people with swallowing difficulties. Is ‘thigh gap’ really worth this suffering and pain?

2015-03-10 14.00.04 2015-03-09 12.51.18

The middle aged slight tubby velo club was out last night. It was a lovely cycle along the canal until Captain Haphazard got caught in some cobbles and almost went in said canal. He managed to right himself but in doing so fell into the tunnel wall and squealed like a girl. We then went for a refreshing beverage and he lost his wallet. I thought I would share this photo with you. Its where he keeps his common sense.

2015-03-11 19.18.17

Guru

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 18.29.21

“90% of everything is crap.”

He told me this was Sturgeon’s law. I am not sure I believe him, I think it is him at his misanthropic best.

ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

Finnie’s Fabulous Fash Finking (F4)

Hello my slightly less well dressed than me darlings. Its that time of the week again when I dispense absolute fashion wisdom.  And all for free!

You may remember a couple of weeks back when I said that the look du jour is the Canadian Tuxedo, well I am going to repeat this advice because you really can’t go wrong with double  or even triple denim. I have also noticed that those on the cutting edge have all succumbed to bleaching their hair. I can think of no better way to illustrate the look that is celebrated in all the best fash circles than these two…

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 21.27.30 Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 21.26.35

Squatting in the office is also in. Make sure you wear some not too tight clothing and you too can do your squats in the office. To motivate yourself think about your developing “thigh gap” whilst you do it.

Till next time fashionistas!

ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
 

The serious bit you may want to read

Rachel Finnie and Lizzie Crawford leave us today for pastures new. I am sure you will join me in thanking them for all they have done for the team and wishing them all the best in their new careers.

Claude sent me this article on Kanban and DevOps

http://www.infoq.com/news/2015/03/agileindia-yeret-kanban#.VPdMjB4WzKQ.twitter

David McConchie knows how to spend his time in worthwhile pursuits….

Apparently this Saturday is Pi Day.  According to the website http://www.piday.org/ Pi Day is celebrated on March 14th (3/14) around the world, however, this year is special being as it is 3/14/15.  For the enthusiast the website includes Pi related merchandise including t-shirts and baby grows.  There is also a spoof video what is the value of Pi based on the ‘hit’ what does the fox say which is worth a watch.

Niels sent me this…

An old colleague of mine posted this on linkedin. I thought it was a pretty succinct description of the dangers in ‘going digital’ (Incidentally I worked with him in 2003 on Direct Lines car insurance web journey, how the world changes…)
https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/digital-transformation-again-buzz-word-bingo-philip-reid

Here is some stuff i have read

Saw this Deming quote on Twitter and thought I would share it with you

“Management by numerical goal is an attempt to manage without knowledge of what to do, and in fact is usually management by fear.”

This economist article clearly illustrates how pervasive smart phones are these days. I remember working on the UK launch of the iPhone and it wasn’t that long ago..

It will be of no surprise to the discerning readers of this blog that a lot of internet content is ‘crafted’ by algorithms but can you tell the difference?

http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2015/03/08/opinion/sunday/algorithm-human-quiz.html?_r=0

80% of Bitcoin volume is driven by Chinese Yuan. I am not sure if this means they are a bit bonkers or they are on to something?

http://www.cnbc.com/id/10249790

The good lady Louise is up this weekend for fun and frolics in Edinburgh so I hope to bump into a number of you at the leaving do of the year. If you speak to Louise please tell her that I am very serious in the office, always wear ironed shirts and never eat sweets or cakes. She is very strict with me and I will get in a lot of trouble if you tell her what I am really like.

See you all next week.

Andrew

Leave a Reply

